Thread: Life Pt. 2

Question Life Pt. 2

So I believe I posted several months back that I was rather depressed with how my life after college has turned out. Honestly, things haven't improved, and I was hoping you all might have some more advice.

I graduated in the spring of 12 with a major in History, minors in Political Science, Leadership, and Music. My goal, since I was a child had been to commission into the USMC. I'm afraid now thats never going to happen; I've been medically disqualified too many times. Attempting to enlist (guaranteed music slot) didn't work either. The other services won't touch my medical records; I think my application is finally dead. What this means is that I've wasted a full year out of college, with nothing but a dead end part time job (working at home!) on my resume. I still live with my parents, and frankly that situation is becoming unbearable, as wonderful as they are.

Something needs to change, and soon. I decided to quit the part time job at home, but I still have student loans to pay. My father thinks I should look for a career, but my mother thinks I just need to move out and work at Walmart somewhere until I figure out what I want to do. The biggest problem perhaps is that I don't know what I want to do anymore, career-wise. There is almost nothing I feel really passionate about anymore. I just want something to change. Tomorrow I begin sending out my resume to all sorts of places from Disney to the US Parks service, but its hard to plan when I have no clue what I want. I feel grad school is a poor option; I can't see it setting me up for anything other than a teaching job, and I'm not a people person.

I don't know really if there's anything you all can offer me in terms of advice, but I suppose anything might be helpful.